Shineanthology’s Weblog

An anthology of optimistic, near future SF

The Week in Tweet, Week 4

The whole week 3 of Outshine in one single post:

Monday January 19:

Quote for the Monday: “Advertising is an environmental striptease for a world of abundance.”

Source:  Marshall McLuhan (1911 – 1980), Canadian sociologist.

Ed: Outshine slush stats: 26 subs in week 3; 15 by men, 10 by women, 1 unknown. 2 acceptances. Tip: am in dire need of humourous pieces!

Wednesday January 21:

My daughter’s new blood/Sings with her during bath thime. Both are beautiful.

Bio: Adam Rakunas will take the Twitter Future over a jetpack. He lives in California with his wife and bicycle. Follow him @rakdaddy

Friday January 23:

Quote for the Friday: “I like the dreams of the future better than the history of the past.”

Source: Thomas Jefferson (1743 – 1826)/U.S. president.

Saturday January 24:

At 101, I’d just begun/ though life grew sadder and sadder/ At 109, I feel just fine/ with my new electronic bladder!

Bio: Tony Noland writes fiction and non-fiction in Philadelphia. He’s a lot funnier in person. His blog, such as it is: http://is.gd/eK5R-

I am in the process of approaching people to do tweet reviews on the Tuesday and Thursday. More on that if and when I get confirmations.

That leaves the Sunday slot still open (ideally, I intend to publish something every day on Outshine ). Any suggestions? For one, I am thinking out loud about an ongoing series of life in a brighter future — the antidote to the #futureJer posts on @thaumatrope which hail about an future gone to the dogs — and call it #fuje (#futureJet or #futureJets are too long for my liking, and ‘fuje’ has a nice ring, an exotic vibe to it).

However, I’m open to suggestions: post them in the comments or email me at shineanthology@gmail.com .

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

